Floral Viscose Harper Blouse

floral harper blouseHere I am – back on the blog! I’ve had a bit of time off from sewing recently due to ‘life’ happening, so I’m happy to be back with you today for a new post. Today I’ve got a lovely, Spring-appropriate blouse to show you.

The pattern I used for this is called the ‘Harper Blouse’ and I downloaded it in PDF format from a lovely website called Spit up &ย Stilettos. Unfortunately, the website no longer exists – the company have changed their name to Sadi & Sam and only offer patterns for children these days – but I’m sure if you emailed the lovely Lauren and ask nicely she’ll be happy to send you the Harper blouse download!

The blouse is a tunic length (it just covers the hips) and features bias binding around the armholes, a waist tie (I used ribbon) and a very on-trend Mandarin collar, much like the new Tilly and the Buttons Martha dress. The only adjustment I made was to the neckline opening, where I added a hook and eye to stop it gaping and so I don’t have to wear a vest top underneath.

harper blouse mandarin collar

This is just one of a very small number of times that I’ve actually used a PDF pattern and, I have to say, it was easier than I remember. Last time I tried a PDF I had a nightmare trying to match up and stick the paper pieces together and vowed never to use them again! I’m glad I’ve put that behind me.

harper blouse

The fabric I used for my blouse is a blue and white viscose that I found on eBay from everyone’s favourite seller, thefabricman. The seller has so many different fabrics at such good prices that it’s hard not to buy more than you need! I just got 1 metre for my blouse and it cost me an astonishing ยฃ2.98. You couldn’t even buy a blouse for that price in Primark. The listing actually describes the fabric as ‘grey and blue gothic flowers’ but I think that description is up for debate! My blouse is definitely inky blue and off-white, and I’d say those flowers were much more feminine than gothic…

Anyhow, this blouse was a pleasure to make and I think it looks perfect for the upcoming sunshine. Do you like it?

14 thoughts on “Floral Viscose Harper Blouse

  1. What a lovely top!
    I am glad you had success with the PDF. I love PDF patterns but only for little things like pincushions and quilt blocks. When it comes to clothes, I would dread the thought of sticky taping all those pages together.

    Like

    • Thank you! And yes, that’s exactly how I feel about PDFs, although this one didn’t have too many pages so it was quite straightforward. I’ve definitely had nightmares in the past though!

      Like

  2. Oh I didn’t realize the site was gone now, but I’m glad I downloaded the free patterns already! I’ve been meaning to make this blouse too, how did you find the instructions? What about the fit?

    Like

    • That’s lucky! I found the instructions really simple to follow, even for the slightly trickier bits like the collar. I don’t remember having any problems at all! In terms of fit it was pretty spot on for me, although I had to add the hook and eye at the neck but that’s perhaps because of the drapey fabric I chose. Good luck with yours!

      Like

Leave a Comment

