Sewing in 2015 – a Year in Review!

As we approach the end of 2015 it’s time for a little blog round-up. Let’s take a look back at all the projects I’ve made this year! I do like seeing everything all together:

2015 year in review collage

There are 27 finished projects right there! That averages at just over 2 a month and, with 17 dressmaking projects and 10 craft projects, I’d say I’ve found a nice balance this year. And this list doesn’t even include those items that I haven’t blogged about. I think my Top 5 have to be my first By Hand London Elisalex dress, my chambray shirt, my patchwork sewing machine cover, my needlework tote bag and my Christmas Megan dress – do you agree? Which are your favourite projects that you’ve seen on my blog this year? I’d love to know!

But how did I shape up against my new year plans – the ones that I made this time last year? Let’s take a look. Last December I told myself in 2015 I would:

  • Hand-make all birthday gifts and Christmas presents – this started off so well and then went downhill around early summertime. I think I lasted until around June and then had to resort to buying presents again due to getting ready to move house! You can either count yourself lucky or unlucky if your birthday was pre-June, depending on how you want to look at it 😉
  • Make more use of my fabric stash – hmm, not sure I managed this one. I’ve made a couple of projects with existing fabric (my Bleuet dressMimi blouse and Christmas Megan) but it’s so hard resisting temptation… I did try though!
  • Buy less fabric – this relates to the point above, and whilst I haven’t actually bought that much new fabric this year I have acquired a lot outside of my stash – mostly thanks to the Minerva Blogger Network! Who am I to turn down a ready supply of fabric each month?!
  • Make more use of the patterns I’ve got – I’ve definitely tried hard with this one and have relied heavily on Love at First Stitch this year (thanks Tilly for this book, I love it so much! 🙂 ), but there’s still room for improvement. I did have a de-clutter and got rid of all the paper patterns I don’t use though!
  • Finish all WIPs – this has to be my biggest success of the year I think – I actually reached the end of my sewing to-do list, yippee! At the start of the year I wrote down all of my plans and kept adding to it as and when. Once a project was completed, I crossed it off the list! It really helped me to keep track of what needed doing and stopped me from picking up too many new projects without finishing the old ones first. I recommend it!
  • Complete my fairisle jumper – OK I need to be honest with you on this one…my Grandma finished this for me because it was starting to drive me a bit mad. The stitches were so small and there were so many and it sat in the corner for ages unfinished. There, said it. :/ Thank you though, Grandma, you’re the best!
  • Not take up any new crafts – I think I succeeded on this too! I still want to learn to crochet mind…

So that’s it! A whole year of blogging, sewing and crafting condensed into one blog post. I hope you’ve enjoyed reading what I’ve been up to and I look forward to sharing more bits and bobs in 2016. Link me to your own review posts if you’ve got one, too!

14 thoughts on “Sewing in 2015 – a Year in Review!

  1. Your favourite is my favourite too – the beautiful dress in the top right.
    Well done on finishing your WIP list. I cannot claim to have done that. I have cleared away a few items from my whiteboard but allowed myself to add a lot as well. 😦

    Like

    • Thank you! It’s a lovely little dress that one. I think the hardest part with to-do lists is to make yourself start at the top and work down, rather than just picking and choosing from the new items you keep adding!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great job! Finishing WIPs is an accomplishment, in of itself. I tell myself not to take on any new projects until I finish the old ones–then just stop working on projects all together. :/

    Hmm…I like that idea of blogging goals…

    Like

    • Thank you! And I know what you mean about stopping completely – I think having a long WIP list can be quite overwhelming that sometimes it’s easier to just do nothing at all!

      Like

    • Thanks Jenny! The key is to really train yourself to finish what you’ve got before starting something new – it’s so hard to do at first but it’s very satisfying to see projects getting completed! Have a great Christmas yourself 🙂

      Like

  3. You’ve accomplished loads this year, well done! I love your festive Megan dress and your Deer and Doe Bleuet. My favourite piece though has to be your sewing machine cover. What a fantastic idea! I may have to make one for my overlocker as it annoyingly didn’t come with a cover and I’ve been wanting to try out hexies for years.

    Like

    • Thanks Jo! The sewing machine cover is a great idea but hexies take such a long time to sew together – be prepared! Well worth it in the end though 🙂 Have a great Christmas!

      Like

  4. Wow, you have been productive! I definitely haven’t finished that many projects this year… I also need to make use of my fabric stash and work on my existing to-do list before starting any new projects. I might steal those resolutions from you 🙂

    Jessthetics

    Like

Leave a Comment

