Blogger Network #18 – Broderie Anglaise Summer Top; Simplicity 4127

simplicity 4127Hello, September! With a new month comes a new Minerva Crafts Blogger Network make – although I think I may have misjudged the weather for this one. This month I’ve made a summer top!

The pattern I chose for this make is Simplicity 4127 which features 6 easy summer tops with a fitted bodice and choice of straps, strapless, straight hem or handkerchief hem. I picked perhaps the most simple one – view B – which is a babydoll style top with a slight V-neck and gathering around the empire line bodice. I picked to make it in a lovely baby-blue Broderie Anglaise in hope that’d it match the bright blue, summer skies! Well, I tried…

simplicity 4127 bodice

Now, whilst the fabric is the perfect fit for a garment like this, I’m not entirely sure that the pattern itself is all that flattering. The Broderie Anglaise is lovely and lightweight and I like how it’s semi-sheer when it’s just a single layer. I also love how delicate and summery it looks. What I do not love is how there’s so much gathering around the empire line of this pattern that it looks a little like maternity wear! I can’t be the only person that’s had this issue before?

simplicity 4127 top

On the hanger it looks rather nice – look at those lovely Broderie ‘stripes’ that run across the bodice. I even managed to get my straps the right length for my small shoulders! I’m a little disappointed with this make as I think it has a lot of potential. If I could easily detach the bodice from the main body of fabric I think I’d try to rectify the problem and remove some of the gathers. Unfortunately the bodice is lined, so to do that I’d have to unpick the entire thing, which I just do not have the time nor motivation for. Perhaps I’ll keep it for the distant future when I do need maternity wear?! What do you think?

5 thoughts on “Blogger Network #18 – Broderie Anglaise Summer Top; Simplicity 4127

Leave a Comment

