Tilly & the Buttons Mimi Blouse

love at first stitch mimi blouseIt’s no secret that I love Tilly and the Buttons’ sewing patterns. If you’ve been a reader over the past couple of years then you may remember all my makes so far: a Coco top, a handful of Coco dresses in Christmas/stripe/aztec prints, two Megan dresses, a floral Francoise dress, some Margot pyjamas and a striped Mathilde blouse… I’m not sure my wardrobe could actually survive without Tilly these days. This week’s make, therefore, is no exception – this time I’ve made my first Mimi blouse!

The Mimi blouse is one of the first patterns I eyed up in Love at First Stitch but it’s taken me a little while to match the pattern with a suitable fabric. Last year my husband and I took a trip to Paris and I bought lots of 5€ fabric ‘coupons’ from Marche St Pierre. One of those pieces got turned into a Deer and Doe Bleuet dress and another has become my very first Mimi! What’s more fitting for a French-named blouse than a piece of Parisian fabric?!

tilly and the buttons mimi blouse

Because the fabric came from France (how very la-di-dah of me), I can’t direct you to an online source, but I can describe it for you. This fabric is very, very soft and drapey and lovely to cuddle up in. It has the feel of brushed cotton but is quite lightweight – perfect for the Mimi blouse! I’ve seen many variations of the blouse in various fabrics around the internet – a few cotton lawns, polycottons, linens, double gauzes, chiffons… it seems that anything lightweight will sew up well. I also love the colours of this fabric – navy blue and white – and love how the little flowers look like actual cotton plants!

tilly and the buttons mimi

The pattern itself is a fun one to make although perhaps a little fiddly if you’re a beginner. There are lots of details to contend with (which is great if you like a challenge or want to learn new skills) but, as usual, Tilly explains each stage perfectly and with lots of pictures. Features include a gathered yoke across the back and shoulders, pleated sleeves, narrow sleeve cuffs, set in sleeves, buttonholes and buttonhole facing plus a fab Chelsea collar. As long as you follow Tilly’s instructions word for word then you can’t go wrong, but there are quite a few steps to this pattern. The end result is definitely worth it though! You can see how much effort has gone into this blouse by looking at all the finished details – it’s absolutely worth slaving over!

tilly and the buttons love at first stitch mimi blouse

I really like my finished Mimi blouse. It fits me well (as do all Tilly’s patterns) and I didn’t have to make any adjustments. I cut the size 2 and it’s perfect for my petite frame! It’s such a comfy blouse to wear and I like the way it’s all loose and floaty. I wear mine with a little camisole underneath and I think it looks great. How about you? Have you ever made this pattern? Show me!

9 thoughts on “Tilly & the Buttons Mimi Blouse

  1. Pingback: Sewing in 2015 – a Year in Review! |

Leave a Comment

