Blogger Network #17 – Embroidered Wedding Gift

carolyn gavin bird embroideryJust a quick post for my Minerva Blogger Network make this month – why? Because it was a super quick project to make! I’ve been enjoying getting stuck into a few more ‘crafty’ projects recently (rather than just dressmaking) as I’ve always loved dabbling in a bit of everything, whether it’s cross stitch, sewing cushions, origami or card making. This time it’s embroidery!

I picked this Carolyn Gavin/Dimensions embroidery kit from the Minerva Crafts website as a wedding gift for my near and dear workmate. He and his beautiful wife got married in Ilkley a couple of weekends ago (I got to wear my China-blue-toileย By Hand London Elisalex dress– yay!) and, when you’re as crafty as I am, it’s only fair that they get an equally lovely handmade wedding gift ๐Ÿ˜‰

dimensions embroidery kit

The kit I used is called ‘A Heart That Loves’ and features a heart-shaped flower, a cute little bird and a quote to the side. All the things you need are included in the kit, like the coloured canvas, fabric shapes, embroidery threadย and needle,ย so all you have to do is follow the instructions and you’re done! You get to practise a few different stitches so it’s a good little project for those with limited experience/patience. I think I completed it in an afternoon!

embroidery kit contents

The only thing that the kit doesn’t include is a frame. I bought a gold frame from H&M (no longer on their website) which has glass on both sides and a chain to hang it up – I used some coloured paper on the reverse side of the embroidery and wrote a little note to the happy couple!

Overall a great little project and (I hope) a fab wedding gift! Have you ever made anything like this before?

 


7 thoughts on “Blogger Network #17 – Embroidered Wedding Gift

  1. Hi Louise, what a beautiful gift. It will truly become a keepsake for your friend and I hope it has pride of place in their home!. I make plaques but haven’t attempted an embroidered one ……… yet!!!! Best wishes, Carolyn xxx

    Like

Leave a Comment

