Summer Seersucker Megan Dress

tilly and the buttons meganDoes anyone remember that heatwave we had in the UK the other week? Or does it seem like a distant memory to you, too? The weekend before the sunshine struck I actually made myself a brand new Megan dress (from the Tilly and the Buttons Love at First Stitch book) which turned out to be absolutely perfect for the hot and sticky weather that was to come. Want to see? Let’s go!

I’ve made this dress pattern once before in a ‘baroque’ linen fabric – read about that one here – and I have to say that it’s one of my most favourite makes. I wear it all the time, it’s really comfy, it fits really well, the length is great on me and it matches everything else that I own. A definite winner! Isn’t that something you wishย every garment achieved?!

After the success of Megan number 1 I thought I’d use the pattern again and make Megan number 2, but this time in a completely different fabric – a floral cotton seersucker from White Tree Fabrics. Unfortunately they seem to have sold out of this particular print but there’s an equally summery yellow floral seersucker just waiting to be snapped up!ย This type of fabric weighs about 2 grams and is ideal for hot, sunny days. I’ll definitely be taking this one with me to Portugal in a few weeks’ time (did you know it’s around 41ยฐc there at the moment?!)

tilly and the buttons megan seersucker dress

The pattern features bodice front and back pieces, skirt front and back pieces, slightly gathered cap sleeves and requires a long invisible zipper down the back. This is a good pattern for newbie dressmakers because there are no difficult seams – the dress is shaped using darts on both the skirt and bodice pieces and there are no pesky bits of bias binding or anything else fiddly. Plus Tilly’s instructions are super clear that I reckon even the cat could have a go ๐Ÿ˜‰tilly and the buttons megan dress

I really like this dress and I can see myself making another in future. It’s very easy to wear and it’s a great addition to my wardrobe. I also don’t have to make any changes to it as it fits me straight off the pattern sheet! Apologies for the lack of photos by the way – I’ve been waiting for a sunny day to get some snaps of me in it but we’ve had nothing but gloom and doom recently…

Oh and I might have recentlyย ordered a copy of Tilly’s new Bettine dress pattern so I hope to be making that up soon, too! I do like a good ‘throw it on and go’ dress pattern. Let me know your thoughts!

17 thoughts on “Summer Seersucker Megan Dress

  1. Lovely fabric, it’s a great pattern isn’t it? That one week of sunshine certainly feels like a long time ago now.. It’s been miserable here today and ridiculously cold for July! Glad you have somewhere more warm to wear it out and about planned ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. What a lovely dress! I love this fabric too. I made a Megan a while ago but am not 100% happy with how it turned out. Reading your post makes me want to have another go. This looks like an item you will get loads of wear out of ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. such pretty fabric! and ideal for warm climes ๐Ÿ™‚ I have seen some really nice Megan dresses and combined with this one I’m beginning to be persuaded that I should give it a go :-). We’ve had nothing but rain since Saturday – definitely not impressed with ‘summer’!!

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I definitely recommend you give it a try, it’s a nice simple pattern to follow and has lots of little details that look great but aren’t too difficult to master. Good luck!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Tartan Reindeer Megan Dress |

Leave a Comment

