A Dotty Chambray Shirt – Burda 6849

burda 6849 polka dot shirtGuys, I made a shirt. I actually made a shirt! That fits! I demand that you all go and help yourselves to a celebratory cocktail in my honour right now (or a celebratory cup of tea if you’re at work). The idea for this project came about when Minerva Crafts started to stock this amazing, incredible, fantastic polka dot chambray fabric. I think I ordered my 1.5 metres of it about 30 seconds after it went up on the website (side note – there’s also a stripy version which I’m trying my hardest to resist!) Because chambray looks rather like denim, I thought it’d be the perfect fabric with which to make a denim-look-a-like-chambray-shirt: enter Burda 6849, courtesy of the lovely Hannah over at Simplicity. The pattern back declares that ‘these blouses ensure a young and clean look’ and that the pockets and snap fasteners have ‘all the attributes of a classy blouse’. This sounds like the pattern of my dreams right from the off – and it turns out I was right! I absolutely love this pattern – whilst it’s at least 3 steps ahead of my normal ability, I actually out-did myself with this one (if I do say so myself). I think the key here is to take your time and measure everything very carefully: it took me a few weeks to sew all the pieces together but I’m glad I didn’t rush it. Shirts require a lot of clean lines and neat edges so it’s essential that you go slowly. burda 6849 dotty blouse I chose to make view ‘B’ – which has the slightly longer length – but with the details of view ‘A’, which simply means adding snap fasteners rather than buttons. Have you ever used snap fasteners before? I got some pearl-effect ones from Minerva and had a right laugh trying to insert them – if you plan to use them in a project of your own, be aware that you’ll need a hammer, plenty of space and a patient husband. I’m not sure what our neighbour thought whilst I recklessly hammered in 12 individual snap fasteners but, you know what, I don’t care. They look great! This pattern is definitely one for the more confident sewer as it requires a multitude of different skills – top stitching, vertical darts, pockets, pocket flaps, setting in sleeves, the collar, the cuffs, sleeve plackets, snap fasteners, a curved hem… I didn’t let that put me off though, and neither should you. I think as long as you follow the instructions word-for-word then you won’t have any problems – just take your time! I can’t emphasise that enough. burda 6849 details I really hope you like my finished chambray shirt as much as I do – I’m really very proud of it (if you can’t tell!) I even did French seams on the inside to keep it all neat and tidy – particularly because chambray has a tendency to fray. Have you ever made a shirt/blouse before? How did it go? Do you plan to make one now I’ve made it look like an absolute doddle? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

By the way – this post was written to run alongside the launch of the Simplicity Blogger Circle! You can find out more about the club below (go on, you know you want to join in too…)

Simplicity Blogger Circle

26 thoughts on “A Dotty Chambray Shirt – Burda 6849

  1. Wow – this is really good! I am drinking celebratory tea as requested (although wishing I was at home so it could be a cocktail). You should definitely be proud of yourself.

    Like

  2. your shirt looks great! such a lovely colour too. I tried a shirt with sleeves once however the cuff placket instructions left a bit to be desired and its still hanging up while I figure out how to rectify it!!

    Like

    • thank you! I have to say, the plackets were the bit I found the hardest too – I had to read the instructions several times before I understood what it actually meant! I found positioning my fabric to look exactly like the diagram helped a bit…

      Like

  3. I’m just about to embark on a small boy’s shirt! If all goes well I’m definitely taking some chambray inspiration! I’ve worked with those very snap fasteners, and you do need a patient household 😀

    Like

  4. Pingback: Hexie Sewing Machine Cover! |

  5. Pingback: Sewing in 2015 – a Year in Review! |

  6. Pingback: #2017makenine – What I Plan to Stitch This Year |

Leave a Comment

