Stylish Home Sewing – A Book Review!

stylish home sewingTorie Jayne’s Stylish Home Sewing‏ is a gorgeous new sewing book that’s just been released last week. I got sent a copy by the publisher (lucky me!) to review and, to be honest, I’d never actually heard of Torie Jayne before… however, I did a bit of detective work and came across the Torie Jayne website and realised that this book was definitely worth getting my hands on! Here’s the official press release description of the book:

The book features over 35 projects for you to make, to bring some of Torie Jayne’s style to your home. Each chapter is centred on a space in your home. The entrance hall chapter includes useful storage projects, such as square storage boxes made from fabric plus fabric and oilcloth bags. The kitchen chapter includes table linen, a bread basket and utensil holder, while the bedroom chapter features a padded headboard, make-up bag and eye mask. The garden chapter showcases practical projects such as a garden kneeler with carry-handles and a polka-dot tool belt, as well as decorative bench cushions, a child’s play tent and bunting. Each project is in fresh, appealing colours, and reflects Torie’s sewing expertise, as well as her eye for patterns. Beautiful step-by-step artworks and clear instructions make each project easy to complete.

torie jayne stylish sewing 1

torie jayne home sewing 2

I took a few photos of my favourite projects from the book – what do you think? The little peg basket is so adorable and I love the weaved fabric cushion and that fantastic teepee! Can you imagine having one of those for summer?! This book is perfect for gift inspiration – I’ve already noted down a few of the projects that I’d like to make as wedding gifts, birthday presents and in preparation for Christmas. Look at the felt rose garland (below) too – isn’t it great?

rose garland

The instructions in the book are written out in illustrated/written steps like most other craft/sewing books – I actually thought that the layout was very similar to the Liberty Book of Simple Sewing that I got a little while ago. The templates for the projects are printed at the back of the book but you do have to photocopy and enlarge some of them (as with the Liberty book) which does infuriate me a bit! Mainly because I don’t know how to do that…

felt rose broochI’ve not had the time to start on any of the larger projects out the book yet but I did make a little felt rose brooch the other evening – all you need to do is cut out the flower templates in felt and then artfully twist and stitch them into place. Simple but effective, don’t you think?

Overall, the Torie Jayne Stylish Home Sewing book is definitely one I would’ve picked up had I not been offered a copy. The projects in it are all so adorable and 90% of them are things you’d actually want to make – unlike some other books out there! I can definitely see myself ordering some broderie-anglaise trim and turquoise felt in the near future….

5 thoughts on “Stylish Home Sewing – A Book Review!

    • You’re very welcome! The brooch was such a simple little project but it looks really effective – I’ll definitely be making a few more things once my schedule is clear 🙂

      Like

Leave a Comment

