Nautical Striped Coco

tilly and the buttons striped cocoI realise that it’s almost August and that it’s currently very warm outside, but it’s never too early to start sewing for the coming autumn, is it? I bought this fabulous double jersey fabric from Minerva Crafts in their sale a little while back (for only £3.99 a metre!!) and have been desperate to make it into a nautical-style Coco dress ever since. Unfortunately they’ve sold out of the fabric now but there are plenty of other Coco-suitable jerseys available right here still – have a look 🙂

This is the second Tilly and the Buttons Coco dress that I’ve made – I made an Aztec print, long sleeved version a little while ago and absolutely love it, although this time I made the smallest pattern size because my first attempt is a bit more ‘roomy’ than I’d aimed for. The pattern is so quick and easy to follow though that I actually whipped this striped version up in about 3 hours last Sunday afternoon!

I chose to make another long-sleeved version of the Coco because I never seem to have enough warm dresses once the cold British winter rolls around! I do plan to make a cropped sleeve version at some point though. And a short sleeve one for summer, perhaps in a lovely bright-coloured ponte? My to-do list is longer than I’d like to admit….

tilly and the buttons coco stripes

Check out my pattern matching around the sides of the dress too – stripes are much easier to line up than most patterns so are a good shout if you’re new-ish to dressmaking. I was going to add some little patch pockets, with the fabric cut on the bias so that the stripes run diagonally, but I changed my mind in the end because I quite like the dress how it is! Do you love it as much as I do? Je t’adore, Coco!

15 thoughts on “Nautical Striped Coco

  1. Hi Louise,

    I did a double take when this sailed into my inbox, because your dress is nearly identical to MY stripy Coco dress! How spooky! http://jenerallyspeaking.typepad.com/blog/2014/03/stripy-coco-dress-1.html

    I too, found the stripes deliciously useful when pinning the seams neatly and I too, chose NOT to add pockets because I like it without. It’s become about my favourite outfit to sling on – perfect for crawling round after a toddler all day.

    I’m going to go and eye up your Aztec version now!

    Jen

    Like

    • Ooh so it is! Stripes are always a good choice 🙂 I love the cropped sleeves on yours, they look really good. Hopefully something I plan to try for my next Coco! Thanks for your comment 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Christmas Reindeer Coco | Sew Sensational ♥

  3. Pingback: Looking Back at My 2014 Sewing Projects! | Sew Sensational ♥

  4. Pingback: Long Sleeve Tilly & the Buttons Coco Top | Sew Sensational ♥

Leave a Comment

