Blogger Network #3 – Knitted Union Jack Cushion

union jack knitted cushion fairisleFor this month’s Blogger Network post I decided to do something a bit different, crack out my knitting needles and make this fantastic knitted Union Jack cushion!

The pattern is by Sirdar Hayfield and uses their Bonus DK yarn in 3 different colours: navy, merlot and apline. It says to use the intarsia technique to knit the different colours together, which can take a little patience if you’ve never done it before, but the end result is well worth the practice. I actually used the fairisle technique for making mine (I’ve never quite fathomed the difference between the two!) and it worked out just fine. I do get in a bit of  a tangle every now and then but I do love it!

knitted union jack cushion sirdar pattern

If you need help learning how to knit using the intarsia or fairisle technique then head over to YouTube where there are lots of handy guides! It was my mum who taught me but I’m not sure she’d be available to teach the rest of you 🙂

fairisle union jack backHowever, I do find fairisle knitting quite tiring and can only do a couple of rows at a time, so this knitting project took me a longgggg time to finish. And even now it’s still not quite done! You’re meant to knit a flag for both sides of the cushion, but as if I have the time (or patience) to do that. At the moment my cushion has no backing but I plan to use the leftover yarn to do a simple striped back. It looks quite good half-finished though, right? I mean, just look at the reverse side of my flag – it’s almost as beautiful as the front!

What do you think of my (half) finished cushion? It looks quite grand on my chair at the top, don’t you think? Tell me about your experiences with intarsia/fairisle knitting! I’d love to hear that I’m not the only one that spends 50% off the project time in a tangle…

10 thoughts on “Blogger Network #3 – Knitted Union Jack Cushion

  1. That looks gorgeous 🙂 I know that pain I’m always in a tangle knitting fair isle and I’m no good at getting the tension right which is annoying as I love the patterns knitting can make! You look like you have a good handle on that though 🙂
    jenny xx

    Like

    • thank you! tension is something I’ve not yet had a problem with…. I never make an effort to get it ‘right’ but everything always turns out ok! beginner’s luck I reckon 😉 thanks for the comment! x

      Like

  2. That cushion would look just right in the back seat of my Mini!
    I haven’t done much Fair Isle knitting, not since I finished a jumper my mum was knitting for my stepfather, but I enjoy it and the end result. I am more of a texture knitter – bobbles and cables.

    Like

    • hahaha I’m glad this makes me look so patient! normally I’m the kind of person who likes to whip up a project in an afternoon and gets annoyed if it takes me longer than a weekend…. so this was a real challenge. And did I mention it’s still not finished?! Fairisle is fiddly at first but once you get the hang of it it’s not so bad!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Looking Back at My 2014 Sewing Projects! | Sew Sensational ♥

Leave a Comment

