GBSB Series 2 Episode 6 – Vintage Blouse and Coat Sewing Patterns!

Hollywood Patterns 1087 GBSBWho else was wow-ed by the Sewing Bee contestants’ vintage blouses and coats last night?! I know I’d certainly struggle with those patterns! I’ve definitely been inspired to have a go at making my own short-sleeved blouse for spring though – a lovely Liberty cotton lawn would go perfectly with the sewing pattern used on the show…

If you fancy making a vintage blouse exactly the same as the one on the Sewing Bee, see if you can pick up a copy of the sewing pattern that they used: Hollywood Pattern 1087. The pattern envelope looks so lovely I’m not sure I’d want to open it!

simplicity 1590For a similar, still-in-print vintage blouse pattern, try Simplicity’s 1590  retro blouse sewing pattern – it’s one I’ve had my eye on for a while and this GBSB episode has convinced me I was right to do so!

The contestants also made a round of outdoor, heavy, woollen coats. After seeing the Colette Albion pattern that was released recently, the idea of making a coat is looking more and more accessible.

Want to make the same coat as one of the Sewing Bee sew-ers? Here’s a little round-up of the sewing patterns that they used:

lynda's gbsb winning coat b5824

Lynda’s winning coat sewing pattern – Butterick B5824

david's military coat sewing pattern gbsb McCalls 4745

David’s military coat sewing pattern – McCall’s 4745

heather's swing coat sewing pattern gbsb b5716

Heather’s swing coat sewing pattern – Butterick B5716

You can also view my other Sewing Bee pattern round-ups at the posts below:

15 thoughts on “GBSB Series 2 Episode 6 – Vintage Blouse and Coat Sewing Patterns!

  1. It was great last night! Such stunning sewing. Good luck with your blouse.

    I loved the coat segment. I made a vintage cape last year and learned so much, not least how lovely it is to work with quality wool fabric. My brother gave me the Albion pattern for Xmas and I too hope to make that, along with a 70s fit and flare vintage coat pattern.

    Like

    • Ooh you sound well-up on your coats! A vintage cape sounds lovely… I’m a little bit put-off by making a coat because the fabric seems very thick and heavy. Perhaps a lightweight mack might be better for me! I’d love to see your finished Albion, there are some great examples of it out there.

      Like

  2. It was a shame that David had to go last night, I really like his attitude, and he’s made some great garments, but I think it was the right decision.

    That vintage blouse pattern looked really daunting to work from, particularly with a time limit!

    Like

    • Yeah David was such a lovely guy! I think I’d definitely struggle with the time limits too – I’m usually quite speedy, but not when I don’t have a clue what I’m doing! Thanks for your comment 🙂

      Like

  3. Loved Linda’s coat and I think David did a great job, considering the thickness of that fabric! My Nan was a professional seamstress and one thing she used to make was thick, heavy Army Greatcoats – made me have even more respect for her, seeing David battle with his! I thought he did a super job on that. It’s getting very hard to choose now. I’d love either Lynda or Heather to win as they’re my faves.

    Like

    • Yeah David did really well – it was a shame he had to go this week but I think he had some very tough competition! I’ve been willing Lynda on since the beginning so I’m very glad she’s still there 🙂

      Like

Leave a Comment

