New Look 6483 Sleeveless Top – GBSB2 Inspired!

my new look 6843In the first challenge of series 2 of the Great British Sewing Bee, the contestants were required to make a simple, cotton, sleeveless top. Easy! I hear you cry. Everyone has a piece of cotton in their sewing stash. Every dressmaker knows how to make interfacing, sew curved seams and make a button loop…. or do they? Welcome to my very own Sewing Bee-style challenge!

After the first episode of the Sewing Bee had aired, and thanks to the lovely ladies at Simplicity patterns, I found myself with a copy of the New Look 6483 sewing pattern on the sewing (dining) table. This pattern is almost exactly the same as the one used in the show, although there’s no ‘pulling through to the front’ business involved in this one which, perhaps, makes it even easier.

The bits and bobs you’ll need to make this pattern are as follows:

new look 6483 sewing bee challenge

First up, notice how the sewing pattern is marked as ‘1 Hour Easy’? If this isn’t perfect for a Sewing Bee Sleeveless Top Challenge then I don’t know what is! I decided to go for view ‘E’, which is the one on the top left of the pattern cover.

new look 6483 sleeveless topHowever, 1 hour is perhaps something of an understatement. It probably took me an hour to cut out the pieces and a couple of hours to sew everything together – but that’s not too bad, right? Plus I had to allow an extra hour because I made the pattern way too big (Top Tip! I compared my measurements with the fit-guide on the back and used the appropriate-sized pattern. When I sewed it up it was about 3 sizes too big so I had to take a big chunk out of my side seams. I suggest choosing a smaller size than you think clipped seamsyou’ll need!)

Overall this pattern is pretty easy to follow and good for a start-up stitcher like myself. Attaching the interfacing is simple and the curved seams are nice and big so very easy to do on your machine. I didn’t even have any trouble adding the darts.

A tip I have for clipping all the curved seams is to use your pinking shears! I learnt this from Lucie over at Love Lucie and haven’t looked back. It’s so much quicker and neater and works just as well. how to sew a button loopGive it a go!

As for how to sew the button loop… try this little diagram! Using the tiny image in the pattern, I created a loop of cotton the width of the button and then wound my thread around the loop a few times to strengthen it. I think it looks quite good! It does the job at least.

Has anyone else made this pattern before?

If you’re looking for other Sewing Bee related patterns then try my posts on the silk nightgowns and the men’s pyjamas!

18 thoughts on “New Look 6483 Sleeveless Top – GBSB2 Inspired!

    • Thank you! And yes, this is definitely a great pattern for beginner stitchers. If you need help with any of the techniques then I also recommend the Colette Sewing Handbook (they helped me out today when putting in a zip!) but you shouldn’t have too much trouble with this one 🙂 Let me know if you make anything! And thanks for the comment 🙂

      Like

  1. I used to think that clothes sizes in shops were random but that a dress pattern was usually about right if you measured yourself correctly. Now you have me doubting that (just the second part – sizes in shops are still totally random). I haven’t done much dressmaking in recent years, perhaps it has changed too.
    If adjusting a pattern to fit doesn’t send you into conniptions and you end up with a great top, as you did, you will not be able to call yourself a ‘beginner’ much longer! Looks great.

    Like

    • Shop sizes are always random, I agree! I have all my measurements and patterns are usually quite accurate but this one just really wasn’t! Maybe I measured myself on a fat day, haha. Oh well, as you say, I’ve managed to adjust it ok so all is fine now! I think the key is to remember to fit as I go and make sure I measure everything three times before I sew it 🙂

      Like

    • ooh cotton lawn would be lovely for this! I used a cotton poplin which can be a little ‘stiff’ but lawns are so much silkier – definitely try it! This pattern is great for first-timers as there aren’t many fiddly bits and the instructions are very clear. Can’t wait to see what you make!

      Like

  2. Pingback: GBSB Series 2 Episode 4 – Dungarees and Prom Dress Patterns | Sew Sensational ♥

  3. Top looks great! I have just sewn a dress for my daughter out of the same fabric…will try to blog about it in the next week or so. I have some left….wonder if it’s enough to make myself a sleeveless top?

    Like

    • thank you! I’d love to see the dress! and if there’s not quite enough fabric yet, you could always add some sort of ‘colour block’ panel to the top or bottom?

      Like

  4. A lovely top. Curved seams aren’t really easy you know, some people try to straighten the fabric out to stitch the seam, and then wonder why it distorts, so well done you. Isn’t it lovely when your skill base widens out? I love it! Maureen

    Like

  5. Pingback: Looking Back at My 2014 Sewing Projects! | Sew Sensational ♥

  6. Pingback: V8949 Lace Dress- Inspired by GBSB 3 Episode 5! |

  7. I have just bought this pattern, I am quite a novice, but not completely new to sewing. So so glad I read the bit about sizing, I am normally an 8 or 10 in clothing depending where I buy from, but the measurements on the back of this, would have me making a size 14 / 16. I may be brave and go straight for the 10?!?!
    Thanks for the blog.
    Angela x

    Like

Leave a Comment

