Chris’ Woollen Architect Scarf

chris scarfIf you live in the UK, (or indeed, Canada) you’ll have noticed that the nights are starting to get darker, mornings are starting to get colder and the car is becoming impossible to defrost in less than 2 minutes. Winter is definitely coming, which can only mean one thing – it’s time to make lots of chunky-knits!

My sister bought me the Greetings From Knit Cafe by Suzan Mischer book for my birthday last year and I instantly spotted this pattern for a chunky knit ‘architect’ scarf. The pattern is designed for a man, so the lucky recipient of this super-woolly scarf is my lovely boyfriend! I tried to pick the manliest colours possible – what do you reckon?!

striped chunky knit scarf

The scarf is made using a simple ribbed pattern (k2 p2) and has stripes in varying widths and colours. The yarn I used was Sirdar Hayfield Bonus Chunky in Aubergine, Cinder, Light Grey and Petrol shades. It measures about 6ft in length – quite long for a scarf but quite short when you consider the fact that the intended recipient is 6’6″!

What do you think of my finished article? Have you knitted yourself (or someone else) a scarf this year?

16 thoughts on “Chris’ Woollen Architect Scarf

  1. We’re good for scarves but I’m on the knitting mittens brigade for my kids. With winter here gone is the ability to throw on a pair of shoes and be out the door. It’s at least 5 minutes per kid to bundle up, and that’s if they’re cooperating.

    Like

    • ooh mittens – that’s a good idea for my next project! though I’m not sure my boyfriend would appreciate them so much ๐Ÿ™‚ I used to be an au-pair so I understand what it’s like trying to get kids dressed!

      Like

    • Thanks! That’s exactly what I thought too – most knits are very feminine so it’s hard to find something manly enough. Hope your OH likes his scarf come Christmas!

      Like

  2. Pingback: My Big Non-Sewing Related News! | Sew Sensational โ™ฅ

Leave a Comment

