Simplicity Pyjama Trousers

simplicity pyjama trousers This weekend I had a go at making my own pyjama bottoms and, well, it was much harder than it looks!

The pattern I used was free from Simplicity and came as an online download which you can print at home. This all sounds great in theory, but when you have to cut and stick 25 pattern pieces together on the floor it does get a bit difficult. Especially when the instructions don’t tell you which bits are meant to overlap and by how much.

Anyway, once you’ve figured out the pattern-piece-jigsaw it becomes a lot easier. Each trouser leg is made from one piece of material (I used a floral cotton – remember it from my fabric stash post here?) and the whole thing is brought together by just 3 long seams. Easy! The waistband at the top is then folded over to make a channel, a piece of elastic inserted and there’s the option to simplicity pyjama bottomssew a tie-belt too.

My only suggestion is that if you’re making this pattern for yourself, cut the fabric a couple of sizes BIGGER than what you actually are. I started off with the XS size (I’m only 5’3) but couldn’t get the waist band over my reasonably-sized lower half (excuse me), so I had to cut the pattern pieces out again and make them wider at the top. I also had to fold up a cuff at the bottom of each leg and stitch it into place because they were far too long for my little legs!

I also think that this pyjama trousers pattern may work better with a stretch fabric, such as a jersey cotton. Whilst my floral cotton (can I just point out that this is the material my Grandma made my dress out of when I was a 7-year-old bridesmaid) feels lovely and summery, it has zero give to it. Perhaps the smaller waistband would have fitted better if it had! I’m pretty pleased with the end result though – now I just need to work on perfecting the pattern for the next, winter pair…

Have you ever made this free Simplicity sewing pattern before? How did it turn out?

8 thoughts on “Simplicity Pyjama Trousers

  1. I went to the site and saw the grid for the pattern……ugh. I think I’ll pay for them to hand me one at the store. I was just admiring the new pajamas at Target, so I’m glad you reminded me that I could sew those quite easily. Great idea. Yours are adorable.

    Like

    • Thank you! They were very easy to sew – I think once you have the actual pattern pieces cut out then you’re away. But yes, the cutting and sticking was a bit of a nightmare! Definitely worth a try though ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Pingback: My Colette Sorbetto (free pattern!) | Sew Sensational โ™ฅ

  3. Pingback: DIY tutorial: PJ trousers! | Life of a DIY Shopaholic

Leave a Comment

