Knitting a Woolly Hat

Carol Meldrum woolly hatIt’s September, it’s almost Autumn and it’s very nearly the time to start wearing wool again! Normally when the winds are blowing and the rain is falling I turn to my knitted beret (shop bought, I must admit) but this year I’ve decided I’m going to have a go at making my own hat.

The pattern I’ve picked is one from the book ’30 Minute Knits’ by Carol Meldrum. I highly doubt it’ll take me just 30 minutes to make, but I’m going to try my best. I’ve also been assured by McA Direct (a knitting store who contacted me through Twitter) that wool, needles and knitting bookthe author, Carol Meldrum, creates patterns that are lots of fun to do! So fingers crossed…

The pattern calls for one 100g ball of super chunky wool and 12mm knitting needles. I don’t own either, so on my lunch today I popped down to the wool shop in my town and picked up the couple of things you can see in the picture. I’ve got some jumbo-size, plastic, 12mm needles (they look a bit like toy knitting needles!) and some Wendy Mega Chunky Wool in shade 2244 – this is apparently silver but I’d say it was more a grey-blue colour.

Now I just hope that it goes to plan, I can polish off the rust and I can remember how to knit!

7 thoughts on “Knitting a Woolly Hat

Leave a Comment

