Christmas in July

christmas advent calendarFirst of all can I just apologise for the content of this post. I realise that it’s July and we’ve just had the hottest day of the year so far here in the UK – but it’s never too early to start planning your advent calendar really is it? I actually started this DIY advent calendar last year but got so carried away with decorating our first ever Christmas tree that it just didn’t get finished.

The idea is that I’m going to make 24 individual, fabric envelopes – using this fabric envelope pattern here – in Christmas colours. Each envelope will be unique – I’m planning to cross stitch a few Christmas emblems, applique on some numbers, attach little gold bells, sew on a few sparkly buttons etc until the sun goes down (or the snow, that’s more likely). I’ll then string them all together using my Christmas ribbon, stuff the envelopes with treats and hang it advent calendar envelopessomewhere lovely in my house!

I’m hoping to get my handmade advent calendar finished before Christmas this year so stay tuned for updates. Who knows, it may even become a family heirloom further down the line!

8 thoughts on “Christmas in July

  1. I’m nominating you for a Liebster Award. I’ve hunted around WordPress and there isn’t a “how to” do it, so I just wrote a blog with all the pertinent info. If you want the award, just reblog the blog I wrote nominating you, that’s the only way I can think of doing it.

    Like

Leave a Comment

