My Monogrammed Cushion

monogram cushionMonogram – noun – a motif of two or more interwoven letters : this week Louise made a cushion with a monogram design.

This is a project that I’ve had on the back-burner for a while. I cut the pieces out and pinned the letters in place a long time ago, yet I’ve just never quite got round to finishing it. I know from reading lots of other stitchers’ blogs that this sort of ‘sewer’s block’ isn’t a rare occurrence – but I’m determined not to let it get the better of me. So monogram lettersthis week, it was time for the monogrammed cushion to come into its own.

The cushion pattern is just the standard one I always use: three panels on the front and two at the back, sewn together inside out and then turned the right way round.

To make the monogram, I cut out the letters L and C (for myself and my other half) in matching, floral fabric and then carefully pinned and stitched a contrasting ribbon down the centre of each. I also added a ‘shadow’ of white lace to each letter and stitched on some little bunches of heart-shaped buttons. This was all a little bit fiddly – especially trying to keep everything straight and in-line – but I think the finished design is quite effective. What do you think?

One thought on “My Monogrammed Cushion

  1. Pingback: Purple Patchwork Cushions | Sew Sensational ♥

Leave a Comment

