Teacup Pincushion with Tutorial

Want to make your own pin cushion? This design from Mrs M Makes is (I think) the best one I’ve seen yet. I made my own heart-shaped pin cushion a long time ago when I first started sewing, but after seeing this I think it’s time for an upgrade!

Mrs M Makes

I needed a new pincushion, so I decided to make myself one. This is how to do it:

First of all you need a teacup. As you know, my favourite colour is purple:

image

A saucer is nice, but not essential.
It doesnโ€™t have to cost much. I got my cup and saucer from a charity shop for not much at all:

image

To make your teacup pincushion you need to find some fabric that goes with the pattern on your cup. I used purple felt.

image

You need to cut a circle of fabric bigger than your saucer if you have one โ€“ I use a side plate. Your circle needs to be at least an inch larger in diameter than your cup.

image

Sew running stitch around the edge of your circle, leaving thread hanging at both ends. If you are using a patterned fabric, the ends of your thread both needโ€ฆ

View original post 200 more words

Leave a Comment

