Learning How to Knit

Knitting. Although it’s something incredibly crafty, looks remarkably like the word ‘kitten’ and is something that (clearly) has my name written all over it, knitting is just something that I’ve never got round to adding to my creative repertoire. Until now.

Last weekend I was very kindly given the Cath Kidston Knitting Book as a thank you present. Inside are 6 balls of Cath Kidston 2-ply wool in various twee colours, 2 metallic red 4.00mm knitting needles, a pattern to make a striped scarf and an instruction booklet. So far so good.

I sat myself down, selected my first wool colour and opened the instruction booklet. Enter problem number one. The picture here shows what the contents of this booklet look like. The instructions basically read ‘wrap the wool around your needle, push the needle through, create a loop and voila, a scarf’. As you can imagine, this is not very helpful.

The picture instructions remind me a bit of origami diagrams – a series of hand-drawn, 2d images with approximately 75% of the stages missed out. In fact, I got so confused I had to resort to looking on YouTube. The video I found shows you (slowly and simply) how to cast on stitches and soon had me on my way. Click here to see it!
Once I’d figured out how to cast on stitches, I consulted the scarf pattern. The pattern tells you to cast on the incredulous amount of 180 stitches which, for a beginner, is a fair few to stack up on your needle. Once you get a rhythm going it becomes much easier and you’ll soon find that you’re casting on stitches without even looking (a superpower I thought only my Grandma had).

Another thing to keep in mind when casting on is the tension. Not the tension in the atmosphere as you avidly wait for the scarf to knit itself, but the tension of the wool. As you cast on each stitch you need to tighten it so that they all look the same and you don’t end up with a scarf (or toy snake) that’s loopy at one end and tight-knit at the other. You’ll need to maintain the same tension as you continue to knit too.

Overall, this is a lovely little kit for a first timer like me (despite the confusing instructions). Subscribe to my blog to make sure you don’t miss my updates on this project!

2 thoughts on “Learning How to Knit

  1. Pingback: Knitting Needle Roll | Sew Sensational ♥

  2. Pingback: Knitted Fingerless Gloves | Sew Sensational ♥

Leave a Comment

