Sew Hip Fabric Basket

I got the latest issue of Sew Hip! magazine the other day, in hope that in being the November edition, it would contain some Christmas-sy patterns. Unfortunately it didn’t, which I was a little disappointed about, but I did find a pattern for this cute little hamper basket.

It’s made up of 2 long pieces of fabric for the sides, 4 strips for the handles and 2 round circles for the base. The outer and lining layers are sandwiched around corresponding lengths of wadding to give it some structure. I decided to have a go because the pattern looked simple, and I figured it’d be a nice container for my grandparents’ Christmas presents when I’d finished!

As expected, the pattern was easy to follow, but I did have a few issues with the thickness of the material and trying to fit it under the sewing machine foot. I had to hand-stitch the base onto the sides because it was just too bulky. All in all, a good little project that passed a morning. And the perfect size for a Christmas hamper too.

Leave a Comment

