Sew! with Cath Kidston

A couple of weeks ago I had a sudden burst of inspiration and a strong desire to begin sewing everything and anything. It all started when I walked into Waterstones, Harrogate, and found the amazing ‘Sew!’ book by Cath Kidston.

This book is brilliant for (almost) beginners like myself. I’ve made a few garments for Barbie dolls in my younger days, and I’ve always enjoyed being creative, so I like to think I have a flair for making something out of nothing. Sew! by Cath Kidston is a great place to re-start my obssession. Firstly, the book comes with pre-cut material to make the bag on the cover – which was probably what persuaded me to pay £14.99 for it in the first place. In hindsight, I could’ve saved a fortune if I’d bought it online, but being impatient, I wanted it there and then!

The book comes with an enormous colour and letter -coded template sheet, which is easy to use although not so easy to fold back up again. All the shapes are easy enough to cut out from greaseproof paper and can be re-used for several of the projects in the book. Each of the projects are rated from 1-3 depending on their dfficulty, and so far they seem to live up to their rankings. The book has clear instructions for each item, with a list of ‘ingredients’ for each one, step-by-step instructions and lots of pictures. Definitely very easy to follow.

At the start of the book there is also a short explanation on how to sew hems, how to create button holes, how to press seams etc, which is very handy if you’re new to all the terminology. The projects consist of handbags, aprons, ovengloves, tea towels, washbags, blankets, cushions… lots of ‘homely’ items which will make your home attain that country-cottage feel it deserves.

Looking back, I’m glad I bought this book over some of the other ones available in the (very small) sewing section at Waterstones. Fingers crossed our vintage sewing machine doesn’t give up before I’ve got to the end!

2 thoughts on “Sew! with Cath Kidston

  1. Pingback: an iPurse for an iPad « Sew Sensational ♥

  2. Pingback: Appliqué, Patchwork & Button Cushion « Sew Sensational ♥

Leave a Comment

